Skopje hosts the SEDM Ministerial meeting, talks on strengthening security and stability in the region

Minister of Defence Radmila Shekerinska together with fellow ministers and senior representatives of the Ministries of Defence of the SEDM member states (Southeast Defence Ministerial) will meet today in Skopje to discuss the key security challenges facing the countries of the Southeast Europe region.

Following the working meetings, the Ministers of Defence and the senior representatives of the member states will sign a Joint Statement setting out the direction of the future development and functioning of this important regional initiative.

The SEDM initiative, established in 1996, has 15 members – North Macedonia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine and the United States, and Moldova is an observer country. The presidency of this initiative is on a rotating basis, and Bulgaria is the current chair.

The main goal of this initiative is to promote stability and security in Southeast Europe through the development of military-political cooperation.
One of the most important SEDM projects is the Southeast Europe Brigade – SEEBRIG whose command until 2026 is located in North Macedonia. Six of the SEDM member states – North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Romania and Turkey – are members of this Brigade.

There are several other projects within SEDM, such as SEESIM – project for simulation exercises, the Female Leaders in Defence and Security project, the Interconnection of Military Hospitals (IMIHO) project, as well as the permanent portal of SEDM for fast and efficient exchange of security information between the member states of this initiative.

Други вести
Skip to content