The New Year’s traditional concert of military bands with a charity dimension this year

The Military Band of the Army of the Republic of North Macedonia, the bands of the armies of our partners and NATO allies soon, Croatia and Albania, performed musical works of world renowned composers at the traditional New Year’s concert held yesterday at the Army Hall.

This year, the concert began with a minute of silence in tribute to those killed in the recent devastating earthquake in Albania and had a humanitarian character, as the participants had the opportunity to donate funds for the persons affected by this major disaster.

The concert was attended by the state civil and military leadership, led by President Pendarovski and Defense Minister Radmila Shekerinska was present as well. Prime Minister Zoran Zaev said at the opening of the concert that the image of the members of the three armies together and united as one stirs a lot of emotions, especially considering that 16 years ago, these three countries shook hands within the Adriatic Charter and decided to walk towards the Alliance together.

“The road towards the Alliance took a little longer for North Macedonia, but the cooperation and the support we have always gave each other never disappeared. It is evident today as well, when we finally fulfill our goal – the three countries together, stronger, allies in the NATO Alliance”, said the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister noted that this year is historic for us, and that the concert entitled “The Sound of Cooperation, the Sound of the Alliance” marks several important dates for the country that have led us to NATO – 6 February, when the Accession Protocol was signed, two days later when the first ratification was adopted, the first participation of Minister of Defense SHekerinska at the NATO meeting on 13 and 14 February, and the first participation of the Prime Minister at the the NATO Leaders Meeting earlier this month in London.

The concert was attended by the Chief of General Staff, Lieutenant General Vasko Gjurchinovski, Cabinet Ministers, Members of Parliament, Ambassadors and representatives of the military diplomatic corps, representatives of religious communities and other guests.